Skip to content

The Garden

May 13, 2010
by

What is this?

Sacre frigging bleu! Fennel.
Fennel! Apparently planted, by hand, in The Girl’s backyard.

And is this basil? Fresh basil, coming out of the ground, and not a plastic blister pack?
This is a miracle! Monsieur Tea! TEA!
Come here! You have to see this.

This had better be good, Frenchie. I was in the middle of brewing
a particularly smoky Lapsang Souchong.

Oh it is. Le hell has officially frozen over. The Girl has
extracted herself from a seated position long enough to
plant herbs in the backyard. Look! Sweet basil, English sage, Moroccan mint,
rosemary, chives, and dill!

Not possible. She made the boyfriend do it
while she watched
The Monty Python Lumberjack Song in German on YouTube.

Mais oui! I saw her hands myself. At first I thought that
she had just gone a little bit crazy while eating a box of
Fran’s Gray Salt Caramels. But now I see–her hands were dirt-covered,
not chocolate-covered! Look, Tea. There is fennel, and I think
I even see shallots.

Astonishing.

I need a few silent moments just to process it all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

